Brad Litchfield Associate General Counsel of Policy Federal Election Commission 999 E. Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20463

Re: Advisory Opinion Request No. 96-23

hm 10

RECEIVED FEDE

4 21 11 15

FEDERAL ELECTION

SECRETARIAT

<u>Supplement</u> AOR 1996-23

ITT Hartford

Advocates

Fund

Dear Mr. Litchfield:

June 5, 1996

The ITT Hartford Advocates Fund, the separate segregated fund connected with ITT Hartford Group, Inc. ("ITT Hartford"), concurs with the information and analysis submitted by Wiley, Rein & Fielding on behalf of ITT Corporation concerning the events surrounding the break up of the former ITT Corporation and the contention that the three separate segregated funds of the now independently managed and publicly traded entities should be deemed "unaffiliated" under Federal regulations.

2 55 PH '96

Additionally, in connection with your review of the above Advisory Opinion Request, we would like to bring the following event to the Commission's attention:

• On May 16, 1996, at the Annual Shareholder's Meeting for ITT Hartford, the shareholders elected the slate of nominees for the Board of Directors, including the nomination of a new director, H. Patrick Swaggert, who has no present or previous affiliation with ITT Corporation or its affiliates.

The ITT Hartford Board now consists of eleven individuals, only four of whom are also on the Board of the New ITT, thus leaving seven members of the ITT Hartford Board who were and are not on the Board of the former ITT Corporation (See Exhibit A for Board membership). Further, the election of the slate of nominees for the Board by the ITT Hartford shareholders indicates that the Board has received specific shareholder approval and is not dictated by the Company's former sole shareholder, ITT Corporation.

Please feel free to contact me at (860) 547-5480 if you require further information.

Respectfully Submitted. reedman

resident



Attachment

<u>Exhibit A</u>

.

ITT Hartford Group. Inc. Board of Directors

1995 ITT Hartford Board Members (14)	1996 ITT Hartford Board Members (11)
Ramani Ayer	Bette B. Anderson
Rand V. Araskog	Rand V. Araskog
Donald R. Frahm	Ramani Ayer
Arthur A. Hartman	Robert A. Burnett
Paul G. Kirk, Jr.	Donald R. Frahm
Abraham A. Ribicoff	Arthur A. Hartman
Lowndes A. Smith	Paul G. Kirk, Jr.
DeRoy C. Thomas	Lowndes A. Smith
Gordon I. Ulmer	H. Patrick Swaggert
D. Travis Engen	DeRoy C. Thomas
Robert A. Burnett	Gordon I. Ulmer
Robert A. Bowman	
Joseph H. Gareau	

•

dr\ittboard.exh

Bette B. Anderson